The Morris Law Firm Blog

December 17, 2014

SOCIAL MEDIA DURING TEXAS DIVORCE

Filed under: Family Law — Tags: , , , , , — The Morris Law Firm 702 S. Beckley, Dallas, Texas, 75203 (214)357-1782 @ 2:40 am

We have become a social media society. 27% of all online time is spent on social media network sites. Facebook has over 1.12 billion users. More than half of adults in the United States have a profile on a social networking site.

If you are complementing or currently going through a divorce (or any kind of litigation), you need to be very conscious of anything you post online.

Things you should know:

-Anything you do online can and will likely be used against you;

-Lawyers and their clients have been sanctioned for deleting social media content that they considered   damaging to their case. Remember deleting embarrassing photos or incriminating wall posts      constitutes spoliation of evidence. Also, in the digital age, “delete” doesn’t really mean “delete”  anymore; there’s always a way to retrieve information once it’s placed on the Internet.

Things you should do:

-Bolster your privacy settings, or delete online photo albums;

- If you maintain a blog, do not discuss the case, anything related to the divorce, or indeed any personal information that could be used against them;

-Create a new web-based e-mail address, with a new password, to ensure that the ex doesn’t have access;

-Make sure that you monitor what your children are doing online and with cellphones. A child’s Facebook page may contain references to problem issues like drugs, alcohol or relationships could become pivotal in a custody battle; and

-Avoid online references to finances. Discussions about an expensive vacation, a bonus or raise at work, or a planned purchase can serve as evidence in a subsequent alimony or child support Proceeding.

Social networking sites like Instagram, Facebook, MySpace, LinkedIn, and Twitter represent a revolution in the way people communicate and share information. This sharing can come with a high price for the unwary. If you have the will power, it might be a good time to take a hiatus from social media.

Daniel L Morris, The Morris Law Firm, info@themorrislawfirm.net, (214)357-1782

December 15, 2014

ASSAULT: CLASS C MISDEMEANOR

Filed under: Criminal — Tags: , , , , — The Morris Law Firm 702 S. Beckley, Dallas, Texas, 75203 (214)357-1782 @ 2:20 am

TEXAS CRIMINAL DEFENSE

In Texas Assault is intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly threatens imminent bodily injury,causes bodily contact or causes bodily injury to another, including the person’s spouse.

The defendant will be charged with a Class C Misdemeanor when the assault consists of threat or contact to the victim. However, this does not include an assault where the victim is:

1)Elderly (65 years or older);

2)disabled individual (a person who is unable to protect himself from harm or to provide food,         shelter, or medical care for himself); or

3)A sports participant in the course of performing his duties or the assault is in retaliation for the participant’s duties.

If a person is convicted of a Class C Misdemeanor can receive a fine not to exceed $500.

Daniel L Morris, The Morris Law Firm, info@themorrisfirm.net (214)357-1782

December 13, 2014

DO I HAVE A NEW INJURY OR PRE-EXISTING CONDITION?

Filed under: Workers' Compensation — Tags: , , , , , , — The Morris Law Firm 702 S. Beckley, Dallas, Texas, 75203 (214)357-1782 @ 12:46 am

TEXAS WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

You’ve had an accident at work, you were sent to the doctor and he took you off of work. You’ve filed your workers compensation claim with the insurance carrier only to receive a notice that your claim is being denied. They claim that you are suffering from an ordinary disease of life or a pre-existing condition. Not only are you in pain and unable to work, you are receiving no benefits and have no way to pay your bills. What do you do?

Most people will argue that since they were able to do their normal job prior to the accident and are now unable to work, it should be clear that they suffered a compensable injury. Ten years ago this argument was sufficient to allow a judge to rule in the workers’ favor. However, the Texas Workers’ Compensation system has steadily become more difficult for the injured worker to prevail.

The burden is on the injured worker to prove by a preponderance of the evidence (more likely than not), that they have suffered a new injury. To do this, they must show that the pre-existing condition had some enhancement, acceleration, or worsening of the underlying condition. This is generally done through a report from a doctor describing how the underlying condition enhanced, accelerated or made worse by the accident.

Always consult with an attorney who understands the Texas Workers’ Compensation system and can help you know when you have the proper evidence to win your case. The attorney will also assist you in finding a doctor that works for you and not the insurance carrier.

Daniel L. Morris, The Morris Law Firm, info@themorrisfirm.net (214)357-1782

May 20, 2014

Texas Workers Compensation Benefit Review Conference Scheduling Order

Filed under: Workers' Compensation — Tags: , , , , , — The Morris Law Firm 702 S. Beckley, Dallas, Texas, 75203 (214)357-1782 @ 5:12 pm

Many cases in the Texas Workers’ Compensation system arrive at a Benefit Contested Case hearing, only to find that the case is not ready to litigate.  This generally arises when there are incomplete medical records or the insurance carrier changes what medical conditions they have accepted or disputed.  The Division of Workers’ Compensation is creating Scheduling Order to allow more uniformity in the hearing process.

Starting on June 1, 2014, Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation will begin issuing scheduling orders at the conclusion of an initial Benefit Review Conference (BRC) when the Benefit Review Officer determines that a second BRC should be set.

The scheduling order may direct either or both parties to:

-Exchange existing pertinent information not exchanged at the initial BRC

-Exchange new information necessary to an informed disposition of the dispute.

If the information is not obtained prior to the second BRC, the party may file a DWC-45 form to reschedule the BRC; to allow more time to exchange the necessary information.  If the information is not exchanged, the Benefit Review Officer may cancel the BRC and schedule a Benefit Contested Case Hearing.

Unfortunately I feel that the Scheduling Orders will have little real effect on the hearing process.  Unless, the Division of Workers’ Compensation provides a means for the injured worker to have more control over selecting their treating doctor and the insurance carriers are required to specify the medical conditions they have accepted as part of the compensable injury.

Daniel L Morris, The Morris Law Firm, (214)357-1782, info@themorrisfirm.net

May 1, 2014

Texas Workers Compensation, Designated Doctor’s Report

Filed under: Workers' Compensation — Tags: , , , , , — The Morris Law Firm 702 S. Beckley, Dallas, Texas, 75203 (214)357-1782 @ 6:10 pm

Rule 127.220 of the Texas Administrative Code requires that the report meet the following guidelines:

(1) identify the question(s);

(2) provide a clearly defined answer for each question;

(3) sufficiently explain how the designated doctor determined the answer to each question within a reasonable degree of medical probability;

(4) demonstrate, as appropriate, application or consideration of the American Medical Association Guides to the Evaluation of Permanent Impairment, division-adopted return-to-work and treatment guidelines, and other evidence-based medicine, if available;

(5) include general information regarding the identity of the designated doctor, injured employee, employer, treating doctor, and insurance carrier;

(6) state the date of the examination and the address where the examination took place;

(7) summarize any additional testing conducted or referrals made as part of the evaluation;

(8) include a narrative description of the medical history, physical examination, and medical decision making performed by the designated doctor, including the time the designated doctor began taking the medical history of the injured employee, physically examining the employee, and engaging in medical decision making and the time the designated doctor completed these tasks;

(9) list the specific medical records or other documents the designated doctor reviewed as part of the evaluation, including the dates of those documents and which, if any, medical records were provided by the injured employee;

(10) be signed by the designated doctor who performed the examination;

(11) include a statement that there is no known disqualifying association as described in §127.;

(12) certify the date that the report was sent to all recipients required by and in the manner required by §127.10 of this title; and

(13) indicate on the report that the designated doctor reviewed and approved the final version of the report.

This Rule sates that the above requirements are the minimum that a designated doctor must comply with.  If you feel that your designated doctor did not comply with the above requirements, contact an attorney to assist you in disputing the designated doctor’s report.

Daniel L. Morris, The Morris Law Firm, (214)357-1782, info@themorrisfirm.net

April 22, 2014

Texas Workers’ Compensation Average Weekly Wage (AWW)

Filed under: Workers' Compensation — Tags: , , , , — The Morris Law Firm 702 S. Beckley, Dallas, Texas, 75203 (214)357-1782 @ 11:12 pm

Texas work related injuries that are handled by the Texas Division of Workers’ Compensation will use your Average Weekly Wage to calculate your disability benefits and impairment benefits.  If your AWW is miscalculated by just a few dollars per week, you could lose hundreds or even thousands of dollars over the life of your claim.

You generally calculate Average Weekly Wage by adding up your gross salary for the thirteen weeks prior to your injury then divided by 13 to get an average.  This calculation should not only include your wage, but also any fringe benefits (i.e. bonuses, insurance, housing, food, clothing, etc.), that are discontinued after the accident.

If there are not thirteen weeks of employment prior to the date of injury, a similar employee may be used or an agreement between the parties.  If you question your average weekly wage, you may request a DWC-3 form which your employer should have provided to the insurance carrier.

Daniel L. Morris, The Morris Law Firm, (214)357-1782, info@themorrisfirm.net

April 21, 2014

As a United States Citizen, Which relatives can I petition to become Permanent Residents?

Filed under: Immigration — Tags: , , , — The Morris Law Firm 702 S. Beckley, Dallas, Texas, 75203 (214)357-1782 @ 9:12 pm

Citizens of the United States may petition for their:

-Husband/wife

-Your children

If the citizen is 21, they may apply for their:

-Parents

-Brothers/Sisters

After you file the petition for your relative, they will be place in order of your filing date and their country category.  Immediate relatives do not have to wait at all (Parents, spouse and unmarried children under 21). Generally, when your relative is found eligible, they may bring their spouse and unmarried children under the age of 21.

If you petition for your relatives, you accept financial responsibility for them.

Daniel L. Morris, The Morris Law Firm, (214)357-1782, info@themorrisfirm.net

Texas Workers’ Compensation Impairment Ratings

Filed under: Workers' Compensation — Tags: , , , , , — The Morris Law Firm 702 S. Beckley, Dallas, Texas, 75203 (214)357-1782 @ 5:16 pm

If you suffered a work related injury in Texas and your employer is a subscriber to the Texas Workers’ Compensation system, at some point you will receive an impairment rating.  Most of the litigation at the administrative level includes disputes over the injured workers’ impairment rating.

Your impairment rating will be provided on a DWC-69 form.  This form is filled out by the doctor who does the examination.  Your impairment is calculated by using the Fourth Edition of the American Medical Association’s Guide to Impairment Ratings.  Each injured body part or condition should be included in the impairment rating.

If you are not in agreement with your impairment rating, it must be disputed before the deadline, or it may become final.  As soon as you receive a DWC-69 form which places you at maximum medical improvement and gives you an impairment rating, have it reviewed to make sure it was done correctly.

Daniel L. Morris, The Morris Law Firm, (214)357-1782, info@themorrisfirm.net

How soon should I hire an attorney after a potentially criminal activity?

Filed under: Criminal — Tags: , , , , — The Morris Law Firm 702 S. Beckley, Dallas, Texas, 75203 (214)357-1782 @ 3:36 pm

About six months ago I got a call shortly after 1:00 AM in the morning.  The person of the phone had just been involved in a shooting.  The police were on the way.

I was able to arrive at the scene shortly after the police.  I was not allowed to speak to my client.  But, I was able to start gathering information.  The detective in charge let me know the person that my client shot would live and that there was a person at the scene with my client.  By 8:00 AM we had our private investigators gathering information from the witnesses and the scene.

As a result of prompt action we were able to gather evidence within 24 hours that would not have been available after a couple of days.  This evidence provided proof that our client was defending a victim of an assault and that he was not a criminal but a hero.

With the evidence we had collected, it was easy for the grand jury to no bill the case.  In addition to not being charged with a crime, my client stated that the police department at all times treated him in a polite and professional matter.

If you are a potential party at a crime scene, do not hesitate to retain an attorney right away.  The attorney will be able to help put a plan together which will make a very difficult time in your life a little easier.

Daniel L Morris, The Morris Law Firm, (214)357-1782, info@themorrisfirm.net

February 26, 2014

WHAT TO DO AND WHAT NOT TO DO DURING ARREST

Filed under: Criminal — Tags: , , , , — The Morris Law Firm 702 S. Beckley, Dallas, Texas, 75203 (214)357-1782 @ 5:41 pm

If you are ever arrested, there are some common sense “Do’s and Don’ts” to remember.  It is not a pleasant experience, but you will get through it ok with a little patience.

DO:

-Remain polite.

-Provide your name, address, date of birth and politely let them know you are invoking your 4th Amendment right to remain silent. Then REMAIN QUIET.

-Request that your family or friend that is present take vehicle or personal items into their possession.

-Provide your Driver’s License.

-Stay alert on your ride to the jail (you are likely be video taped).

-Have your lawyer present whenever you are questioned.

-When they ask you to sign your property slip, read it to make sure what is on it.

DO NOT:

-Do not resist arrest (likely to add additional charges).

-Don’t let your friends or family argue or become combative with the police. (It could reflect upon your case).

-Do not try and explain your side to the officer (not likely to help and may hurt your defense).

-Get the names and contact information of any witnesses at the scene.

-Do not give them permission to search.  If there are witnesses express your refusal loud enough for the witnesses to hear.

-If the police are searching, do not assist them in the search.

-Do not allow police to enter your vehicle or home, even if it is to retrieve items such as your clothes or personal items (they will naturally search any area you allow them into).

-Do not talk about your case with your family and friends while you are in jail (assume your conversations are being monitored).

-Do not talk with other inmates about your case (you don’t know who they really are).

Daniel L. Morris, The Morris Firm, (214)357-1782, info@themorrifirm.net

Older Posts »

Powered by WordPress