The Morris Law Firm Blog

April 12, 2011

Prostitution Charges in Texas

Filed under: Criminal — Tags: , , , , , , , — The Morris Law Firm 702 S. Beckley, Dallas, Texas, 75203 (214)357-1782 @ 7:16 pm

Prostitution charges, including pandering and solicitation in Texas range from misdemeanors to felonies. Prostitution charges are generally misdemeanor charges unless additional factors elevate the charges to aggravated promotion of prostitution, which is a felony.

All prostitution charges are considered to be violations of moral turpitude.  If you’ve been convicted of a crime of moral turpitude it could affect your ability to get a job, used against you in court and hurt your public reputation.

Texas Penal Code § 43.02. PROSTITUTION.

(a) A person commits an offense if he knowingly:

(1) offers to engage, agrees to engage, or engages in sexual conduct for a fee; or

(2) solicits another in a public place to engage with him is sexual conduct for hire.

(b) An offense is established under Subsection (a)(1) whether the actor is to receive or pay a fee. An offense is established under Subsection (a)(2) whether the actor solicits a person to hire him or offers to hire the person solicited.

(c) An offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor, unless the actor has been convicted previously under this section, in which event it is a Class A misdemeanor.

Texas Penal Code § 43.03. PROMOTION OF PROSTITUTION.

(a) A person commits an offense if, acting other than as a prostitute receiving compensation for personally rendered prostitution services, he or she knowingly:

(1) receives money or other property pursuant to an agreement to participate in the

proceeds of prostitution; or

(2) solicits another to engage in sexual conduct with another person for compensation.

(b) An offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor.

Texas Penal Code § 43.04. AGGRAVATED PROMOTION OF PROSTITUTION.

(a) A person commits an offense if he knowingly owns, invests in, finances, controls, supervises, or manages a prostitution enterprise that uses two or more prostitutes.

(b) An offense under this section is a felony of the third degree.

Texas Penal Code § 43.05. COMPELLING PROSTITUTION.

(a) A person commits an offense if he knowingly:

(1) causes another by force, threat, or fraud to commit prostitution; or

(2) causes by any means a person younger than 17 years to commit prostitution.

(b) An offense under this section is a felony of the second degree.

Whether your charge is a misdemeanor or felony, it is a crime to hire a prostitute to perform sexual acts for payment, or to receive money in exchange for sexual acts.  Whether you have been charged as a John, pimp, call girl or a prostitute your defense and the outcome of your case is extremely important.  Contact the Dallas office of the Morris Law Firm, at (214)357-1782, or via email at info@themorrisfirm.net.

April 4, 2011

ROBBERY CHARGES IN TEXAS

Filed under: Criminal — Tags: , , , , , , , , — The Morris Law Firm 702 S. Beckley, Dallas, Texas, 75203 (214)357-1782 @ 3:18 pm

In Texas there are two types of robbery charges, robbery and aggravated robbery.  Robbery sometimes referred to as simple robbery is a second degree felony with possible jail time from two to twenty years, with a possible fine not to exceed $10,000.00.

Aggravated Robbery is a first degree felony with the penalty ranging from 5 to 99 years, or life. A possible fine not to exceed $10,000.00

Texas Penal Code § 29.02. ROBBERY.
(a) A person commits an offense if, in the course of committing theft as defined in Chapter 31 and with intent to obtain or maintain control of the property, he:
(1) intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly causes bodily injury to another; or
(2) intentionally or knowingly threatens or places another in fear of imminent bodily injury or death.
(b) An offense under this section is a felony of the second degree.

Texas  Penal Code 29.03. AGGRAVATED ROBBERY.
(a) A person commits an offense if he commits robbery as defined in Texas Penal Code 29.02, and he:
(1) causes serious bodily injury to another;
(2) uses or exhibits a deadly weapon; or
(3) causes bodily injury to another person or threatens or places another person in fear of imminent bodily injury or death, if the other person is:
(A) 65 years of age or older;
(B) a disabled person.
(b) An offense under this section is a felony of the first degree.
(c) In this section, “disabled person” means an individual with a mental, physical, or developmental disability who is substantially unable to protect himself from harm.

If you are in jail or charged with either robbery offense, call The Morris Law Firm at (214)357-1782 or after hours at (469)254-4270.  Or, contact us at info@themorrisfirm.net.

Powered by WordPress